Sweet Summer Treats

19 Jul

Ok, so I didn’t run a tri this week, but I am training for one. You wouldn’t know, though, by the looks of Wednesday night’s dinner.

After work, my friend Jackie and I headed down to D.O.C. Wine Bar in Lincoln Park for a cupcake and wine flight! We were hungry first, so we split their incredible Wrightwood salad (me?! a salad lover!?) and a margherita pizza. I probably liked the salad since it’s named after the major street I live by… either that or the avocado, goat cheese, and almonds in it.

ImageAfter we scarfed down our real-food, the waiter brought us four mini Molly’s cupcakes and four generous half-pours of wine. We got a Moscato with a macademia & coconut cake with lime buttercream, a Vouvray with a cornmeal cake with blackberry & peach, a Garnacha with chocolate cake with chili ganache and cinnamon buttercream, and a Semillon with a vanilla cupcake with strawberry, blue cheese & balsamic vinegar. By now you should know I’m a picky eater, so trust me when I say this was good stuff! Actually, trust Molly’s chefs and bakers.

The night was so fun and Jackie and I needed to walk off our tipsy calories walk for our Global Corporate Challenge team so I walked her almost-home to Lincoln & Belmont. On the way, we saw this little gem of advice:

Image

Leave a Reply

