Crafting the Weekend Away

23 Jul

As I mentioned yesterday, last weekend was spent working out, attending an awesome concert, and crafting away!

After my morning bike ride on Saturday my cousin’s wife, Sarah, came over to teach me how to make gum paste flowers for cake and cupcake decorating. I have a long way to go before I can start selling cakes like she does, but I think they came out cute! I even brought some of them to Ravinia but they didn’t hold up too well in the heat.

Gum Paste Flower Cupcakes

Gum Paste Flower Cupcakes

These are time-consuming, but fun! I’m planning on searching Craigslist and eBay for some kits so I don’t have to send my paycheck over to Wilton for a new set. I love decorating cookies and cakes and cupcakes so this was such a fun time. Thanks again, Sarah!

 

The rest of my crafting weekend came on Sunday afternoon with my little neighbor, Hannah, who is 11. We have been waiting and waiting to do one of those crayon-melting canvas crafts that are all over Pinterest but couldn’t find the time to sit down and work on one. Well, we finally did yesterday and they were so fun!  We did this first one with a brand new box of 24 Crayola crayons as a “practice” on a smaller canvas. We LOVED how it came out, so we ran to the dollar store for some larger-assortment crayons. Lesson learned, my friends. Crayola is the king of crayon. We all know it. Anyone who showed up to elementary school with RoseArt school supplies was bound for artistic failure, and the same rings true for CrayZArt crayons from the Dollar Tree. Check it out:

Crayon Art (Crayola)

Crayon Art (Crayola)

Crayon Art (Dollar Tree)

Crayon Art (Dollar Tree)

Crayon Flower Art (Dollar Tree)

Crayon Flower Art (Dollar Tree)

 

Can you spot the difference between Crayola and Cray-Z-Art? What do you think Crayola puts inside their crayons to make them so fantastic?

On another note… Hannah is the only school-aged child I know that dreads school supplies shopping. She says it’s because she doesn’t want school to start up again, but seriously, isn’t school supplies shopping the best part of back-to-school?

Have a great day!

 

2 Responses to “Crafting the Weekend Away”

  1. Dan July 24, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    Awesome write up!
    Hannah had a great time with you.

  2. Blair Brettschneider (@blaironline89) July 25, 2013 at 5:10 am #

    Your weekends are much more productive than mine. And those cupcakes were delish.

Leave a Reply

