Mac & cheese pizza, Navy Pier & Thanksgiving in July

30 Jul

After Saturday’s Tomato Blast adventure we rode the long, wet, tomato-y way back to my apartment, showered, met up with Blair and headed to Cheesie’s for dinner. I love Cheesies specifically for their mac & cheese grilled cheese, but we decided to get a bit adventurous and try the mac and cheese pizza. Honestly, grilled cheese, mac and cheese, and pizza are all of my favorite things, so I would probably be happy with anything on the menu.

IMG_1580

After devouring our pizza and playing hangman on the chalkboard tables we headed South to Navy Pier for two reasons. One, it was 8:00 and we knew if we took a break before going “out-out” we would never get up (we were SO sore from the biking & tomato-throwing!) and two, Joe’s never been to Navy Pier. What’s that you say? Is he from out of town? Nope, Joe’s a Chicagoland native and just never made the trip down to the happenin’ tourist destination.

Navy Pier

Navy Pier

Joe being at tourist at Navy Pier

Joe being at tourist at Navy Pier

We did all the fun things like go on the Ferris Wheel and the giant swings, watch the fireworks, and eat ice cream. After that it was about 11:00 and we were all wiped from the busy day.

Fireworks at Navy Pier

Fireworks at Navy Pier

Blair on the Navy Pier swings

Blair on the Navy Pier swings

Steven, Blair, me and Joe at Navy Pier

Steven, Blair, me and Joe at Navy Pier

On Sunday morning I went for another run/jog but it went much better than it has been going for me. This time I allowed myself an entire one mile warm up (basically the distance from my apartment to the lake shore path) which prevented cramping and I was able to run 3+ miles straight after that. It also helped that it was 56 degrees outside, but beautifully sunny.

After my run I showered and headed back to the suburbs to run errands, spend time with my parents and Lucy, and especially my neighbors. We had a (first annual) Thanksgiving in July celebration with our other neighbor and it was a blast. We had turkey, stuffing, potatoes, corn, and cranberry sauce! I can’t believe I didn’t get any photos!

Another exciting thing happened after “Thanksgiving” dinner… my friends Seth and Becca got engaged! Seth is one of my best friends from Miami and his girlfriend fiance Becca is the sweetest thing. They make the perfect couple and I can’t wait to celebrate with them! Congratulations, love bugs!

Seth & Becca are Engaged!

Seth & Becca are Engaged!

I’ve noticed that my weekends rarely consist of relaxing/laying around and I kind of love that. I love being busy and making the most of my time but it makes for very sleepy Monday mornings. I’ve got another busy week ahead of me this week but highlights include the Backstreet  Boys concert on Friday and peach picking on Sunday. Stay tuned!

Do you like spending your weekends being busy or relaxing?

Leave a Reply

