It’s August? Jazzin through the end of July…

6 Aug

It’s been a while since my last post but trust me, I’ve been as busy as ever.

Where did I leave off? Last Monday I had ukulele class, and then on Tuesday I met with the executive board for the UM Alumni Club. Wednesday I had plans to go to Jazzin’ at the Shedd (Aquarium)  with Kayla because she bought a Groupon (2 for 1) for it. Well, Wednesday was the last day of the Groupon so it was packed with procrastinators (like ourselves) and surprisingly a lot of kids! Personally if I were a kid and I heard the word ‘jazzin’ I’d have mom and dad turn my stroller around and go the other way, but hey! A deal’s a deal, I guess.

Shedd Aquarium

Shedd Aquarium

Besides the crowd the night was fun. We saw the tropical fish (“Nemo!”), the jellies, penguins, beluga whales, and pacific white sided dolphins. I know a lot about Pacific White Sided dolphins from my days as a season pass holder at Miami Seaquarium.

beluga whales

Beluga whales at the Shedd Aquarium

We didn’t get to see the re-launched dolphin show, but for an extra $3 we were able to pet the sting rays. Thank you for fearing for my safety, but the stingers had been de-stung on these guys, so nothing to worry about!

Petting the sting rays at Shedd

Petting the sting rays at Shedd

Overall we had a fun night! We decided to take the scenic walk home and ignored the thunder and lightning we were hearing and seeing and eventually our luck ran out. We got stuck in the pouring rain and had to walk about a mile back to a cold, air conditioned el train to get home.

Soaking wet from getting stuck in the rain

Soaking wet from getting stuck in the rain

Once I got home I took a hot shower and jumped into bed because on Thursday morning my friend Jessy taught a small yoga class at work! She is training to be an instructor and we are her guinea pigs. I love doing yoga with our Michigan Avenue views.

I also calculated how much money I saved by riding my bike to work last week — $13.50 by riding three days! That’s almost a month’s worth of Netflix and Hulu subscriptions combined! If I do three days a week for a month I’ll have saved $54 and if I go through October (that’s pushing it) I’ll have saved $150 – about half way to a new bike (maybe?). I’m just a dreamer.

Stay tuned for some more awesome recaps including: the Backstreets Boys concert, peach picking, and our annual garage sale.

Leave a Reply

