“A little bit of summer is what the whole year’s all about”

14 Aug

So last Friday was the John Mayer concert at the Tinley Park Amphitheater (not exactly sure what they’re calling it these days). Molly and her boyfriend, Dean, invited me and a friend (Kayla) to go to the concert and it was my fourth outdoor concert of the summer! I’m not a huge concert person, but I’m a sucker for lawns, picnics, and summer nights, so I was more than in.

Molly & Me at John Mayer Concert

Molly & Me at John Mayer Concert

 

What happens when a drunk girl takes your photo at the John Mayer concert

What happens when a drunk girl takes your photo at the John Mayer concert

We left the city around 5:45 and hit a lot of traffic going out there. We made it in to the concert while Phillip Phillips was singing “Hold On” (one of the two PP songs I know). It’s also important to note that I shoved a bag of Twizzlers in the top of my dress because we weren’t sure if you were allowed to bring them in (turns out you are). Phillip Phillips had a very Dave Matthews-y vibe to him and I really liked it.

When John Mayer came on he had a Montana set and was wearing some weird head scarf thing. He played a lot of newer stuff, some semi-old stuff, and then had a session he called “stump John” where he played stuff from his first popular album, Room for Squares. He called it “stump John” because he claims he hasn’t played that old stuff in a while and he wanted to see if he could remember it. He did fine, but he didn’t play my first John favorite, “No Such Thing.”

I remember when that album came out I was 15 and I insisted it was going to be the first CD I put in my car when I got a car and was cruising around. And it was.

My favorite new song he played was “Wildfire,” a song about summer. My favorite line is, “’Cause a little bit of summer is what they whole year’s all about.”

And I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

