Returning from the “Thai of my Life”

16 Jan

It’s been a while since I’ve updated this blog. I’ve been on lots of adventures, of course, plus lots of other things have been occupying this mind of mine. One adventure, though, cannot be ignored. My trip to Thailand was one of the most incredible things I’ve ever done for myself and I can’t wait to share it with my reader(s?) despite the fact that my reader base consists of my best friends, all of whom know all about the trip. WORK WITH ME!

So Kayla’s been trying to get me to go to Thailand for a couple of years. As a successful waitress at the ever-popular Big Bowl, she’s had a hankering for authentic Thai food that she just couldn’t kick. I wasn’t convinced that we needed to fly half way around the world for some temples and pad thai (foreshadowing: Pad Thai is AWESOME). Then, one fateful Monday night, it hit me like a ton of bricks bad TV show. The cast of the Bachelor went to Thailand and it was BEAUTIFUL. I told Kayla to sign me up.

We tried last winter to book a trip for March, but the cheap tickets we found online didn’t turn out to be legitimate. Then, last August, we took a leap of faith and bought airline tickets for December through January. I thought a winter vacation sounded perfect, so I bought the two-week ticket and never looked back.

Phi Phi Island Thailand long boats

Long boats on Phi Phi Island

In September Kayla and I bought the domestic flights to fly within the regions of Thailand. We decided we wanted to be in the picturesque islands for New Year’s so we would go to the mountains and jungles of Chiang Mai the following week. Kayla found a lot of the hotel accommodations on AirBnB and we slowly started to fill our Google Doc of a schedule with excursions and activities.

I know my recap of Thailand can’t all fit in one post, so here’s what I’m proposing:

  • Day 0 – Fears of traveling to Asia
  • Day 1 in Thailand – Bangkok
  • Days 2-6 in Thailand – Phuket
  • Days 7-13 in Thailand – Chiang Mai
  • Day 14 in Thailand – Bangkok pt. 2
  • Layover in Hong Kong
  • Things I wish I would have known before traveling to Thailand/Tips
  • Final Thoughts/ Reflection

Wow, that’s an additional eight posts, but I think I can do it. Will you join me?

Ran Tong Chiang Mai elephants

Showering the elephants in Chiang Mai

Leave a Reply

